Keep your ant journals in here
By Cyrus01
This is my first attempt at keeping ants and writing a journal.

19/10/2016
Today I received my Lasius Niger, thank you Luke @ antkit.
It looks to be a queen and about 15+ workers. There are also several small white things (technical term there ;-) ) I think they maybe larva. The cotton wool at the water side is a bit hollow and several hid in there when subjected to daylight.

Also when I opened the box I could see three ants pulling at the outer cotton wool, so I’m guessing they’re keen to get out of the tube. But for tonight I have wrapped the test tube in a piece of paper and left it still plugged in their new outworld.
I have also put the lid & ptfe on the outworld, last thing i want is an empty test tube & outworld. I do have a size four nest to attach once the colony is a bit bigger, but i may get a size two first.

The hardest part will be leaving them alone for a few days to settle in. I’m not going to hibernate them this first winter, but I will the next one.

So please feel free to join me on this new adventure into the ant keeping world. :-)

Colony stats
Workers: 15+
Larva: 5
Temp: 23.4 degrees
Humidity: 88% (new outworld and this is slowly dropping)
Attachments
Lasius Niger (2).JPG
Outworld.JPG
Serafine liked this
By Cyrus01
20/10/2016
I know I said I would leave it a few days, but having talked to some forum members I decided to remove the cotton wool plug and let them loose into the outworld.
Before doing so I placed a small piece of protein jelly in the end of a pipette (the RobJ way). With in minutes of removing the cotton wool there was a worker feeding shortly followed by a few more.

Two went off to explore the outworld, but soon returned to the tube. As I write this it's been an hour and there is a furry of activity around the jelly. No sign of the queen outside the tube, but it wouldn't expect it yet.