New members come in and introduce yourself.
Forum rules: When you introduce yourself, you will automatically increase your forum rank and be able to see many more forums and topics.
By Mallonje
I am completely new to the hobby.

I had made my own farm back when I was a kid - it was a cocktail olive jar inside a peanut butter jar with sand and about 40 or so worker sugar ants. I recall that setup lasted for almost a year. This led to an interest in keeping insects as pets: various stick bugs, tarantulas, scorpions, all culminating in the straw that broke my mother's back - madagascar hissing cockroaches.

I stumbled upon antscanada while surfing YouTube for science videos out of boredom and I'm now very interestested in raising local native species this summer. I figure I've got some time until the first nuptial flights in my area and any chance at finding queens, so I had better brush up.

Any advice is always accepted and would be greatly appreciated.
By Antlove4ever
Hello Mallonje!

Raising Ants is an amazing thing, but if you don’t do your research on how to care for them properly then the colony can soon so die.

What would you like to find out about? Do you know the basics or would you like me to run you over them?

Kind regards
-Ella
(AntLove4Ever <3)
By Mallonje
Hi Ella,

I think I've brushed up on the basics. But any advice you'd like to offer will be greatly appreciated.

The cold weather has prevented me from catching anything yet. I've seen one flight, and found half a dozen camponotus males, but no queens.

I was camping in Milton Ma. recently and turning over a rock to build a fire pit I discovered a beautiful colony of bright sunflower yellow ants. I think they were most likely Lasius claviger. But now I have a goal. They were gorgeous. I want them.